Bill & Megan Buhler

My Family

My parents, Dave and Sherri Bair, live in Sioux Falls, South Dakota where my dad is the General Manager for the Small Electronics division of Raven Industries. As I was growing up, my dad took each of his kids in turn to breakfast on Saturday mornings. I loved the chance to spend one-on-one time with my dad. He spends a lot of time working, and is often out of town for business. When he is home, he is very involved in family history. His latest project is scanning in and restoring old family photographs he has completed several thousand.

My mom is currently pursuing a graduate degree in Child and Family Studies from South Dakota State University. My favorite memories of my mom are of her reading to me and of our lengthy discussions about the world and relationships. She taught me to read, and rediscovered her favorite books with me in every stage of life from Anne of Green Gables to A Wrinkle in Time. We still frequently share book recommendations and have long talks.

I'm the oldest of five children, me (25), Sam (24), Rosalie (21), Molly (20), and Kelsie (17). Sam lives in Rexburg, Idaho with his wife, Jessica, and their daughters: Bianca and Ava. He is studying to be a physical therapist. Rosalie also lives in Rexburg, Idaho with her husband, Brandon Gibb, who is originally from Canada. Molly lives the closest to me, in Ogden, Utah where she is attending Weber State University's radiology program. Kelsie, a senior in high school, lives in Sioux Falls, South Dakota with my parents.

My dad's parents, Pete and Gingie Bair, live in Basalt (right outside of Aspen), Colorado. They served a mission in Kenya and Tanzania from 1998 – 1999. My mom's parents, Jim and Sandra Shupe, live in Ogden, Utah. They served a mission in Zimbabwe from 2003-2004. I also have one great-grandmother, June Shupe, who lives in Ogden, Utah. When I was born I had all but one of my great-grandparents and two of my great-great grandparents. It has been a great blessing in my life to have known them and heard their life stories firsthand.

Where I'm From

I don't know quite what to say when asked where I'm from. Usually I rattle off a whole list— Utah, Colorado, Massachusetts, Kentucky, Arkansas, and South Dakota.

I was born in Logan, Utah while my dad was working on his degree in Mechanical Engineering at Utah State University. We moved when I was 4 and he graduated with a Master's degree. I moved back to Utah when I was 17, right after high school graduation, to attend Weber State University in Ogden, Utah. After graduating in 1999 with a Bachelor's degree in Public Relations and a minor in Spanish, I was hired as a technical writer for a local information technology company. The company struggled, along with the rest of the industry, and so a year later I took a job in Salt Lake City as a technical writer for an engineering firm.

Each summer that my dad was in school was spent in Colorado so he could work for his dad, who ran a heating and air conditioning business. I also spent every summer from age 6 to age 13 in Colorado with my grandparents.

When I was 4, we moved to Massachusetts. We lived across the border from upstate New York, and were able to visit many of the Latter-Day Saint church history sites. I still have clear memories of attending the Palmyra Pageant and of visiting the Sacred Grove.

When I was 11, we moved to Lexington, Kentucky. I was involved in a community dance program where I took lessons in ballet, tap, jazz, and pointe. I also taught classes of younger children in ballet, tap, and jazz. While attending high school in Lexington, I also participated on the Debate team and competed regionally.

Right before my 16th birthday, my family moved to Springdale, Arkansas. The school had a television studio and I worked as a reporter, news anchor, and finally news director for a daily news show. I also had my first job in Arkansas –as a server and cashier for Luby's Cafeteria.

After I left home for college, my parents moved to Sioux Falls, South Dakota. I've never lived in Sioux Falls, but it is home because it is where my parents live.